INSTITUTE NEWS TEACHING RESEARCH CONTACT
  • ABOUT

    Based on global warming, decline of existing energy resources, exponential population growth, increasing geopolitical instabilities which are the result of uncertainty of the future energy supply, together with the fact that buildings represent about 40% of total energy consumption worldwide leads to a conclusion that a good architecture is not possible without a good energy concept.

     

    The buildings represent the bigger part of one of the biggest problem of our society - fair distribution of available resources. Therefore architecture can be a big part of the solution. Never before in the history of our civilization architecture had such a chance to gain one of the central roles in the society. Good architecture is always representing the expression of the cultural values, priorities and hopes of a society. Now it can produce a physical response for the existential challenges.

     

    A sustainable development by definition cannot get along with the decay in architectural quality of our built environment. A building with low architectural quality and good energy concept is not an actual benefit for a sustainable future. The objective of research and teaching at the Institute is the maximization of energy performance of buildings and cities, and the development of architectural and urban projects through form and structure optimization toward energy efficiency.

  • TEAM

    Head of the Institute

    Brian Cody

    consultation-hour

    Office hours

    Monday - Friday, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - wednesday 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - friday 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    edina.majdanacqtugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    podmirseg@verticalfarminstitute.org

    Project Assistant/Lector

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    hatice.cody@tugraz.at

    alexandru.daan@gmail.com

    wolfgang.loeschnig@tugraz.at

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    nawara@exikon.at

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Student assistant

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Student assistant

    sever@student.tugraz.at

D

 / E

Building Energy and Environmental Performance Tool

Prof. Brian Cody

 

 

 

INFO

PHOTOS

Fields of reference

Aerodynamics; Architecture; Building ecology; Construction Physics; Energy Saving; Power Technology; Renewable Energy; Solar Architecture; Environmental Design; Heat Technology.

 

Description

How we evaluate, reward or punish measurements, strategies, concepts and their results as a society, is going to influence the architectural trend significantly. That is why the development of methods for the evaluation of energy efficiency in the context of the built environment is an important and yet by architects undervalued factor for its further development. Energy efficiency is the reduction of the energy demand of a building and creating optimal indoor conditions of its internal spaces at the same time. The term energy efficiency more often than not is unfortunately misinterpreted and the decrease of the energy demand of a building is generally seen as energy efficiency. Energy efficiency represents the relation between output (use) and input (resources). It is about how much value we get from the used energy. In this context of the climatic performance of buildings, the energy efficiency is the relationship between the quality of the indoor climate and the quality of the energy demand. Generally speaking, tools to regulate the energy efficiency of buildings usually only deal with the energy demand rather than energy efficiency. The BEEP (Building Energy and Environmental Performance) method was developed to identify the real energy efficiency of a building and to allow a thorough comparison between different design options. Results of case studies which were analyzed with this very method, clearly show that a low energy consumption does not equal a high energy efficiency. This complex evaluation method is able to lead to very different architectural solutions than common techniques or methods. This new method developed within the scope of the above mentioned research project was presented to the scientific community in Helsinki in June 2007 on an international congress. Results of further studies regarding different options for refurbishments of an office building was published in 2010.

 

Duration

January 2006 - May 2010

 

Publications

Cody, B.: “Building Energy and Environmental Performance tool  BEEP, Entwicklung einer Methode zum Vergleich der tatsächlichen Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden“, in: HLH Fachzeitschrift, Verein Deutscher Ingenieure, Springer-VDI-Verlag, Düsseldorf, Januar 2008

PDF

Link

Cody, B.: “Building Energy and Environmental Performance Tool BEEP, Development of a method to determine the true energy efficiency of buildings”, Conference Proceedings, 9th REHVA World Congress Clima 2007, Helsinki, Finnland, 2007

PDF

Link

 

More info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum

INSTITUT AKTUELLES LEHRE FORSCHUNG KONTAKT
  • ABOUT

    Vor dem vorherrschenden Hintergrund der globalen Erwärmung, rapide zur Neige gehenden Energieressourcen, exponentiellen Bevölkerungswachstums, steigenden geopolitischen Instabilitäten, die aus der Unsicherheit der zukünftigen Energieversorgungssituation resultieren, zusammen mit der Tatsache, dass Gebäude für mindestens 40% des weltweiten Energieverbrauches verantwortlich sind, ist gute Architektur ohne ein gutes Energiekonzept nicht möglich.

     

    Gebäude stellen einen Großteil eines der wahrscheinlich größten Probleme unserer Gesellschaft dar - nämlich die gerechte Aufteilung, der uns zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen. Architektur kann somit einen Großteil der Lösung darstellen. Nie zuvor wurde dieser Disziplin eine vergleichbare Chance geboten, eine derartige zentrale Rolle in der Geschichte der Menschheit einzunehmen. Gute Architektur ist immer ein konkreter Ausdruck der kulturellen Werte, Prioritäten und Hoffnungen einer Gesellschaft. Jetzt kann sie auch die physische Antwort für diese existentielle Herausforderung liefern.

     

    Eine nachhaltige Entwicklung kann per Definition nicht mit einem gleichzeitigen Verlust an der architektonischen Qualität unserer gebauten Umwelt einhergehen. Ein Gebäude mit wenig architektonischer Qualität und einem guten Energiekonzept leistet somit keinen wirklichen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Zukunft. Schwerpunkt der Forschung und Lehre am IGE ist die Maximierung der Energieperformance von Gebäuden und Städten und die Entwicklung von Architektur- und Urban Designprojekten, welche durch Optimierung ihrer Form und Struktur inhärent hoch energieeffizient sind.

     

  • TEAM

    Institutsleiter

    Brian Cody

    Sekretariat

    Doris Damm

    Sprechstunden n. V. im Sekretariat

    Öffnungszeiten Sekretariat:

    Montag - Freitag, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Alexander Eberl

    Sprechstunden Mittwoch 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Aleksandar Tepavcevic

    Sprechstunden Freitag 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistentin

    Christiane Wermke

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Projektassistentin/Lehrbeauftragte

    edina.majdanac@tugraz.at

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    podmirseg@verticalfarminstitute.org

     

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragte

    Hatice Cody

    hatice.cody@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    dan@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Wolfgang Löschnig

    wolfgang.loeschnig@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Martin Schneebacher

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    nawara@exikon.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Minoru Suzkuki

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    Vesa Bunjaku

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Studienassistentin

    Saša Sever

    sever@student.tugraz.at

D /

E

Building Energy and Environmental Performance Tool

Prof. Brian Cody

 

 

 

INFO

BILDER

Sachgebiete

Aerodynamik; Architektur; Bauökologie; Bauphysik; Energieeinsparung (Maßnahmen zur -); Energietechnik; Erneuerbare Energie (auch: Energieträger, Rohstoffe); Solararchitektur; Umweltgestaltung; Wärmetechnik

 

Beschreibung

Wie wir als Gesellschaft Maßnahmen, Strategien, Konzepte und deren Resultate bewerten, belohnen und bestrafen, wird die Gesamtentwicklung der Architektur maßgeblich beeinflussen. Daher ist die Entwicklung von Methoden für die Bewertung von Energieeffizienz im Bereich der gebauten Umwelt ein wichtiger und bislang auf fatale Weise von Architekten unterschätzter Faktor fr diese weitere Entwicklung. Energieeffizienz ist die Minimierung des Energiebedarfs eines Gebäudes bie gleichzeitiger Erreichung optimaler Konditionen in dessen Räumen. Der Begriff "Energieeffizienz" wird jedoch heute leider gerade im Bereich des Bauwesens häufig falsch verstanden und die Senkung vom Energiebedarf mit einer Erhöhung von Energieeffizienz verwechselt. DAbei stellt Dnergieeffizienz das Verhältnis zwischen Output (Nutzen) und Input (Ressourcen) dar. Es geht darum, welchen Nutzen man aus der "verbrauchten" Energie zieht. Im Zusammenhang mit der klimatischen Performance von Gebäuden ist die Energieeffizienz als Verhältnis zwischen der Qualität des Raumklimas und der Quantität des Energiebedarfes zu begreifen. Bisherige Instrumente zur Regulierung der Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden beschäftigen sich lediglich mit Energiebedarf und nicht mit Energieeffizienz. Die BEEP (Building Energy and Environmental Performance) Methode wurde entwickelt, um die tatsächliche Energieeffizienz eines Gebäudes festzustellen und verschiedene Entwurfsoptionen wirklich miteinander vergleichen zu können. Ergebnisse von Fallbeispielen, die mit dieser Methode untersucht wurden, zeigen eindeutig, dass niedriger Energieverbrauch mit einer hohen Energieeffizienz nicht gleichgesetzt werden kann, und dass eine solche komplexere Bewertungsmethodik zu einer anderen zukünftigen Entwicklung in der Architektur führen würde als die heute verwendeten Methoden. DIe im Rahmen dieses Grundlagenforschungsprojektes entwickelte Methode wurde auf einem internationalen Kongress in Helsinki im Juni 2007 der Scientific Community vorgestellt. Die Ergebnisse weiterer Untersuchungen hinsichtlich verschiedener Varianten für die Sanierung eines Bürogebäudes wurden 2010 veröffentlicht.

 

Laufzeit

Januar 2006 - Mai 2010

 

Veröffentlichungen

Cody, B.: “Building Energy and Environmental Performance tool  BEEP, Entwicklung einer Methode zum Vergleich der tatsächlichen Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden“, in: HLH Fachzeitschrift, Verein Deutscher Ingenieure, Springer-VDI-Verlag, Düsseldorf, Januar 2008

PDF

Link

Cody, B.: “Building Energy and Environmental Performance Tool BEEP, Development of a method to determine the true energy efficiency of buildings”, Conference Proceedings, 9th REHVA World Congress Clima 2007, Helsinki, Finnland, 2007

PDF

Link

 

Mehr Info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum