INSTITUTE NEWS TEACHING RESEARCH CONTACT
  • ABOUT

    Based on global warming, decline of existing energy resources, exponential population growth, increasing geopolitical instabilities which are the result of uncertainty of the future energy supply, together with the fact that buildings represent about 40% of total energy consumption worldwide leads to a conclusion that a good architecture is not possible without a good energy concept.

     

    The buildings represent the bigger part of one of the biggest problem of our society - fair distribution of available resources. Therefore architecture can be a big part of the solution. Never before in the history of our civilization architecture had such a chance to gain one of the central roles in the society. Good architecture is always representing the expression of the cultural values, priorities and hopes of a society. Now it can produce a physical response for the existential challenges.

     

    A sustainable development by definition cannot get along with the decay in architectural quality of our built environment. A building with low architectural quality and good energy concept is not an actual benefit for a sustainable future. The objective of research and teaching at the Institute is the maximization of energy performance of buildings and cities, and the development of architectural and urban projects through form and structure optimization toward energy efficiency.

  • TEAM

    Head of the Institute

    Brian Cody

    consultation-hour

    Office hours

    Monday - Friday, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - wednesday 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - friday 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    hatice.cody@tugraz.at

    dan@tugraz.at

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Student assistant

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Student assistant

    sever@student.tugraz.at

D

 / E

LV 159.508 - Bachelor

Design of specialized topics

INFO

The practical Design of specialized topics deals with the topic of climate-conscious building. Following the motto form follows energy, we are concentrating on the energetic optimization of buildings in the early planning phase. This means that we will focus on basic design decisions, like location, orientation, form, zoning and organization of buildings. In this early planning stage the planner still has the greatest influence on the ecological footprint of his work. The later energetic considerations are introduced into the design process, the smaller the potential for optimization and the higher the structural and technical effort to achieve the set goals.

 

Starting from the question of the university of tomorrow, we will focus on the topic of modernization: How to adapt today's university buildings to meet the demands of tomorrow? This in mind, we will analyze real case studies and explore their spatial, functional and energetic framework conditions and potentials.

 

This entails questions of resource efficiency, flexibility, adaptability and synergy effects between different uses, but also questions that go beyond the built environment - like changing social and technological frameworks and the role of the university in society. These higher-level considerations in turn influence the spatial considerations and should be reflected in the design in the sense of a holistic vision.

 

This semester, the practical will be part of the student competition University 2068 initiated in cooperation with and sponsored by the Bundesimmobiliengesellschaft (BIG).

 

The concepts and designs elaborated in the practical will compete for the award in the category Bachelor, together with student works from the practical Architecture and Energy. Details on prize money and competitive conditions can be found here:

 

University 2068, Student Competition

 

tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum

INSTITUT AKTUELLES LEHRE FORSCHUNG KONTAKT
  • ABOUT

    Vor dem vorherrschenden Hintergrund der globalen Erwärmung, rapide zur Neige gehenden Energieressourcen, exponentiellen Bevölkerungswachstums, steigenden geopolitischen Instabilitäten, die aus der Unsicherheit der zukünftigen Energieversorgungssituation resultieren, zusammen mit der Tatsache, dass Gebäude für mindestens 40% des weltweiten Energieverbrauches verantwortlich sind, ist gute Architektur ohne ein gutes Energiekonzept nicht möglich.

     

    Gebäude stellen einen Großteil eines der wahrscheinlich größten Probleme unserer Gesellschaft dar - nämlich die gerechte Aufteilung, der uns zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen. Architektur kann somit einen Großteil der Lösung darstellen. Nie zuvor wurde dieser Disziplin eine vergleichbare Chance geboten, eine derartige zentrale Rolle in der Geschichte der Menschheit einzunehmen. Gute Architektur ist immer ein konkreter Ausdruck der kulturellen Werte, Prioritäten und Hoffnungen einer Gesellschaft. Jetzt kann sie auch die physische Antwort für diese existentielle Herausforderung liefern.

     

    Eine nachhaltige Entwicklung kann per Definition nicht mit einem gleichzeitigen Verlust an der architektonischen Qualität unserer gebauten Umwelt einhergehen. Ein Gebäude mit wenig architektonischer Qualität und einem guten Energiekonzept leistet somit keinen wirklichen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Zukunft. Schwerpunkt der Forschung und Lehre am IGE ist die Maximierung der Energieperformance von Gebäuden und Städten und die Entwicklung von Architektur- und Urban Designprojekten, welche durch Optimierung ihrer Form und Struktur inhärent hoch energieeffizient sind.

     

  • TEAM

    Institutsleiter

    Brian Cody

    Sekretariat

    Doris Damm

    Sprechstunden n. V. im Sekretariat

    Öffnungszeiten Sekretariat:

    Montag - Freitag, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Alexander Eberl

    Sprechstunden Mittwoch 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Aleksandar Tepavcevic

    Sprechstunden Freitag 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistentin

    Christiane Wermke

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragte

    Hatice Cody

    hatice.cody@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    dan@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Martin Schneebacher

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Minoru Suzkuki

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    Vesa Bunjaku

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Studienassistentin

    Saša Sever

    sever@student.tugraz.at

D /

E

LV 159.508 - Bachelor

Entwerfen spezialisierter Themen

INFO

PROJEKTE

Die Übung Entwerfen spezialisierter Themen befasst sich mit dem Thema des klimagerechten Bauens. Dem Leitspruch form follows energy folgend, konzentrieren wir uns dabei auf die energetische Optimierung von Gebäuden in der frühen Planungsphase. Es sind die elementaren, gestaltgebenden Entscheidungen, die in dieser Übung im Vordergrund stehen: Die Lage, die Orientierung, die Form, die Zonierung und die Organisation von Gebäuden. Denn hier hat der Planer noch die größte Einflussmöglichkeit auf den ökologischen Fußabdruck seines Werkes. Je später energetische Überlegungen in den Entwurfsprozess Eingang finden, desto kleiner wird das Optimierungspotential und desto höher wird der konstruktive und technische Aufwand, um die gesteckten Ziele zu erreichen.

 

Ausgehend von der Frage nach der Universität von morgen werden wir uns dem Thema Modernisierung widmen: Wie müssen Universitätsgebäude von heute adaptiert werden, um den Anforderungen von morgen gerecht zu werden? Dazu werden wir reale Fallbeispiele analysieren und ihre räumlichen, funktionellen und energetischen Rahmenbedingungen und Potentiale ausloten.

Im Fokus stehen dabei Fragen nach Ressourceneffizienz, Flexibilität, Adaptabilität und Synergieeffekte zwischen unterschiedlichen Nutzungen, aber auch um Fragen, die über das Bauliche hinausgehen: Etwa Fragen nach den sich wandelnden gesellschaftlichen und technologischen Rahmenbedingungen und der Rolle der Universität in der Gesellschaft. Diese übergeordneten Überlegungen haben wiederum Einfluss auf die räumliche Ausformulierung und sind im Sinne einer ganzheitlichen Vision in den Entwurf miteinzubeziehen.

 

Dieses Semester findet die Übung im Rahmen des Studierendenwettbewerbs University 2068 mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Bundesimmobiliengesellschaft (BIG) statt.

Die in der Übung ausgearbeiteten Konzepte und  Entwürfe treten zusammen mit den Arbeiten aus der VU Architektur und Energie um den Preis in der Kategorie Bachelor an.

 

Mehr Infos dazu in unserer Broschüre:

 

University 2068, Student Competition

 

tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum