INSTITUTE NEWS TEACHING RESEARCH CONTACT
  • ABOUT

    Based on global warming, decline of existing energy resources, exponential population growth, increasing geopolitical instabilities which are the result of uncertainty of the future energy supply, together with the fact that buildings represent about 40% of total energy consumption worldwide leads to a conclusion that a good architecture is not possible without a good energy concept.

     

    The buildings represent the bigger part of one of the biggest problem of our society - fair distribution of available resources. Therefore architecture can be a big part of the solution. Never before in the history of our civilization architecture had such a chance to gain one of the central roles in the society. Good architecture is always representing the expression of the cultural values, priorities and hopes of a society. Now it can produce a physical response for the existential challenges.

     

    A sustainable development by definition cannot get along with the decay in architectural quality of our built environment. A building with low architectural quality and good energy concept is not an actual benefit for a sustainable future. The objective of research and teaching at the Institute is the maximization of energy performance of buildings and cities, and the development of architectural and urban projects through form and structure optimization toward energy efficiency.

  • TEAM

    Head of the Institute

    Brian Cody

    consultation-hour

    Office hours

    Monday - Friday, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - wednesday 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - friday 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    edina.majdanacqtugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    podmirseg@verticalfarminstitute.org

    Project Assistant/Lector

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    hatice.cody@tugraz.at

    alexandru.daan@gmail.com

    wolfgang.loeschnig@tugraz.at

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    nawara@exikon.at

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Student assistant

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Student assistant

    sever@student.tugraz.at

D

 / E

Form follows energy

Prof. Brian Cody

 

 

 

INFO

PHOTOS

Fields of reference

Building ecology; Construction Physics; Energy saving; Energy Research; Energy Storage; Power engineering; Renewable Energy; Climate engineering; Sustainable Technologies; Sustainable Building; Solar Architecture; Urbanism; Thermodynamics; Heat technology.

 

Description

Collaborations with world leading, international practicing architecture offices have a proven track record and are an important instrument to expand the state of knowledge in the field of holistic, overall energetic concepts of buildings and urban-design projects as well as advancing the urgently necessary development in this research area worldwide. The consulting company Energy Design Cody is being consulted for some of the most thrilling and fascinating construction projects in the world and is collaborating with world leading architects like Coop Himmelb(l)au, Rem Koolhaas OMA, MVRDV, Miralles Tagliabue to name a few. These collaborations have led to more than 35 first prizes in international competitions. At the same time, software tools are being developed to pave the way for energetic analyses and optimization of innovative energy design concepts. This innovative know-how is being directly transferred to the students when teaching at the institute.

 

Duration

January 2005 - ongoing

 

Publications

Cody, B.: “Form follows Energy, Building Energy Performance and Architecture”, Conference Proceedings, UIA 2005 World Architecture Congress, Istanbul, Türkei, 2005

PDF

Cody,B.: „Form follows Energy“, in: Graz Architecture Magazine, Bd. 2, Wien: Springer, 2005,p.28.-41.

PDF

Cody,B.:„Form follows Energy“, in: Profile – Magazin über Architektur, Issue 5 (2007), p.04.-10.

PDF

Cody,B.:“Form follows Energy“, the SOLAR 2003 Conference, Austin, Texas, USA, 2003.

PDF

 

More info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum

INSTITUT AKTUELLES LEHRE FORSCHUNG KONTAKT
  • ABOUT

    Vor dem vorherrschenden Hintergrund der globalen Erwärmung, rapide zur Neige gehenden Energieressourcen, exponentiellen Bevölkerungswachstums, steigenden geopolitischen Instabilitäten, die aus der Unsicherheit der zukünftigen Energieversorgungssituation resultieren, zusammen mit der Tatsache, dass Gebäude für mindestens 40% des weltweiten Energieverbrauches verantwortlich sind, ist gute Architektur ohne ein gutes Energiekonzept nicht möglich.

     

    Gebäude stellen einen Großteil eines der wahrscheinlich größten Probleme unserer Gesellschaft dar - nämlich die gerechte Aufteilung, der uns zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen. Architektur kann somit einen Großteil der Lösung darstellen. Nie zuvor wurde dieser Disziplin eine vergleichbare Chance geboten, eine derartige zentrale Rolle in der Geschichte der Menschheit einzunehmen. Gute Architektur ist immer ein konkreter Ausdruck der kulturellen Werte, Prioritäten und Hoffnungen einer Gesellschaft. Jetzt kann sie auch die physische Antwort für diese existentielle Herausforderung liefern.

     

    Eine nachhaltige Entwicklung kann per Definition nicht mit einem gleichzeitigen Verlust an der architektonischen Qualität unserer gebauten Umwelt einhergehen. Ein Gebäude mit wenig architektonischer Qualität und einem guten Energiekonzept leistet somit keinen wirklichen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Zukunft. Schwerpunkt der Forschung und Lehre am IGE ist die Maximierung der Energieperformance von Gebäuden und Städten und die Entwicklung von Architektur- und Urban Designprojekten, welche durch Optimierung ihrer Form und Struktur inhärent hoch energieeffizient sind.

     

  • TEAM

    Institutsleiter

    Brian Cody

    Sekretariat

    Doris Damm

    Sprechstunden n. V. im Sekretariat

    Öffnungszeiten Sekretariat:

    Montag - Freitag, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Alexander Eberl

    Sprechstunden Mittwoch 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Aleksandar Tepavcevic

    Sprechstunden Freitag 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistentin

    Christiane Wermke

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Projektassistentin/Lehrbeauftragte

    edina.majdanac@tugraz.at

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    podmirseg@verticalfarminstitute.org

     

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragte

    Hatice Cody

    hatice.cody@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragte

    alexandru.daan@gmail.com

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Wolfgang Löschnig

    wolfgang.loeschnig@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Martin Schneebacher

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    nawara@exikon.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Minoru Suzkuki

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    Vesa Bunjaku

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Studienassistentin

    Saša Sever

    sever@student.tugraz.at

D /

E

Form follows energy

Prof. Brian Cody

 

 

 

INFO

BILDER

Sachgebiete

Bauökologie; Bauphysik; Energieeinsparung; Energieforschung; Energiespeicherung; Energietechnik; Erneuerbare Energie; Klimatechnik; Nachhaltige Technologien; Nachhaltiges Bauen; Solararchitektur; Städtebau; Thermodynamik; Wärmetechnik

 

Beschreibung

Kollaborationen mit weltführenden, international tätigen Architekturbüros haben sich als wichtiges Instrument bewährt, um den Stand des Wissens auf dem Gebiet der holistischen, gesamtenergetischen Konzeption von Gebäude und UrbanDesignProjekten zu erweiteren und die dringend erforderliche Entwicklung dieses Gebietes weltweit voranzutreiben. Das Beratungsunternehmen Energy Design Cody wird bei einigen der spannendsten und anspruchsvollsten Bauprojekten der Welt konsultiert und arbeitet mit weltweit führenden Architekten zusammen, u.a. mit Coop Himmelb(l)au, Rem Koolhaas OMA, MVRDV, Miralles Tagliabue, um nur einige zu nennen. Diese Kollaborationen haben zu über 35 ersten Preisen in internationalen Wettbewerbsverfahren geführt. Parallel dazu werden laufend Softwaretools entwickelt, um die energetische Analyse und Optimierung von innovativen Energy Design-Konzepten zu ermöglichen. Durch die Lehre erfolgt ein direkter Transfer dieses Innovations-Knowhows an die Studierenden.

 

Laufzeit

Januar 2005 - laufend

 

Veröffentlichungen

Cody, B.: “Form follows Energy, Building Energy Performance and Architecture”, Conference Proceedings, UIA 2005 World Architecture Congress, Istanbul, Türkei, 2005

PDF

Cody, B.: „Form follows Energy“, in: Graz Architecture Magazine, Bd. 2, Wien: Springer, 2005,p.28.-41.

PDF

Cody, B.:„Form follows Energy“, in: Profile – Magazin über Architektur, Issue 5 (2007), p.04.-10.

PDF

Cody, B.:“Form follows Energy“, the SOLAR 2003 Conference, Austin, Texas, USA, 2003.

PDF

 

Mehr Info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum