INSTITUTE NEWS TEACHING RESEARCH CONTACT
  • ABOUT

    Based on global warming, decline of existing energy resources, exponential population growth, increasing geopolitical instabilities which are the result of uncertainty of the future energy supply, together with the fact that buildings represent about 40% of total energy consumption worldwide leads to a conclusion that a good architecture is not possible without a good energy concept.

     

    The buildings represent the bigger part of one of the biggest problem of our society - fair distribution of available resources. Therefore architecture can be a big part of the solution. Never before in the history of our civilization architecture had such a chance to gain one of the central roles in the society. Good architecture is always representing the expression of the cultural values, priorities and hopes of a society. Now it can produce a physical response for the existential challenges.

     

    A sustainable development by definition cannot get along with the decay in architectural quality of our built environment. A building with low architectural quality and good energy concept is not an actual benefit for a sustainable future. The objective of research and teaching at the Institute is the maximization of energy performance of buildings and cities, and the development of architectural and urban projects through form and structure optimization toward energy efficiency.

  • TEAM

    Head of the Institute

    Brian Cody

    consultation-hour

    Office hours

    Monday - Friday, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - wednesday 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - friday 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    edina.majdanacqtugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    podmirseg@verticalfarminstitute.org

    Project Assistant/Lector

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    hatice.cody@tugraz.at

    dan@tugraz.at

    wolfgang.loeschnig@tugraz.at

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    nawara@exikon.at

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Student assistant

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Student assistant

    sever@student.tugraz.at

D

 / E

Building Form and Energy

Prof. Brian Cody

 

 

 

INFO

PHOTOS

Fields of reference

Aerodynamics; Architecture; Building ecology; Construction Physics; Energy Saving; Power Technology; Renewable Energy; Solar Architecture; Environmental Design; Heat Technology.

 

Description

One key issue of our research is the relationship between energy efficiency of buildings and the buildings form. In order to achieve the social objectives towards the sustainable development of our environment, we know, that energy efficiency and ecology of each and every architectural project shall be on top of every planners agenda. If the diverse aspects of energy efficiency are being considering during the design process, new building forms may be found in architecture. This project focuses on the following research questions: What is the impact of the relationship between the form and the energy demand of a building? Does the inclusion of these considerations inevitably lead to a new formal language? Or is it possible to optimize the energy efficiency of a building regardless of its architectural style and without any effect of the intended architectural impression to achieve the social objectives regarding sustainability anyway? The relationship between architecture and energy will always exist. No matter if form follows energy or energy follows form, the energy efficiency of a building is significantly influenced by its architecture

 

Duration

January 2005 - December 2005

 

Publications

Cody, B.: “Form follows Energy, Building Energy Performance and Architecture”, Conference Proceedings, UIA 2005 World Architecture Congress, Istanbul, Türkei, 2005

PDF

Cody,B.: „Form follows Energy“, in: Graz Architecture Magazine, Bd. 2, Wien: Springer, 2005

PDF

Cody,B.:“Form follows Energy“, the SOLAR 2003 Conference, Austin, Texas, USA, 2003

PDF

 

More info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum

INSTITUT AKTUELLES LEHRE FORSCHUNG KONTAKT
  • ABOUT

    Vor dem vorherrschenden Hintergrund der globalen Erwärmung, rapide zur Neige gehenden Energieressourcen, exponentiellen Bevölkerungswachstums, steigenden geopolitischen Instabilitäten, die aus der Unsicherheit der zukünftigen Energieversorgungssituation resultieren, zusammen mit der Tatsache, dass Gebäude für mindestens 40% des weltweiten Energieverbrauches verantwortlich sind, ist gute Architektur ohne ein gutes Energiekonzept nicht möglich.

     

    Gebäude stellen einen Großteil eines der wahrscheinlich größten Probleme unserer Gesellschaft dar - nämlich die gerechte Aufteilung, der uns zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen. Architektur kann somit einen Großteil der Lösung darstellen. Nie zuvor wurde dieser Disziplin eine vergleichbare Chance geboten, eine derartige zentrale Rolle in der Geschichte der Menschheit einzunehmen. Gute Architektur ist immer ein konkreter Ausdruck der kulturellen Werte, Prioritäten und Hoffnungen einer Gesellschaft. Jetzt kann sie auch die physische Antwort für diese existentielle Herausforderung liefern.

     

    Eine nachhaltige Entwicklung kann per Definition nicht mit einem gleichzeitigen Verlust an der architektonischen Qualität unserer gebauten Umwelt einhergehen. Ein Gebäude mit wenig architektonischer Qualität und einem guten Energiekonzept leistet somit keinen wirklichen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Zukunft. Schwerpunkt der Forschung und Lehre am IGE ist die Maximierung der Energieperformance von Gebäuden und Städten und die Entwicklung von Architektur- und Urban Designprojekten, welche durch Optimierung ihrer Form und Struktur inhärent hoch energieeffizient sind.

     

  • TEAM

    Institutsleiter

    Brian Cody

    Sekretariat

    Doris Damm

    Sprechstunden n. V. im Sekretariat

    Öffnungszeiten Sekretariat:

    Montag - Freitag, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Alexander Eberl

    Sprechstunden Mittwoch 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Aleksandar Tepavcevic

    Sprechstunden Freitag 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistentin

    Christiane Wermke

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Projektassistentin/Lehrbeauftragte

    edina.majdanac@tugraz.at

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    podmirseg@verticalfarminstitute.org

     

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragte

    Hatice Cody

    hatice.cody@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragte

    alexandru.daan@gmail.com

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Wolfgang Löschnig

    wolfgang.loeschnig@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Martin Schneebacher

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    nawara@exikon.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Minoru Suzkuki

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    Vesa Bunjaku

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Studienassistentin

    Saša Sever

    sever@student.tugraz.at

D /

E

Gebäudeform und Energie

Prof. Brian Cody

 

 

 

INFO

BILDER

Sachgebiete

Aerodynamik; Architektur; Bauökologie; Bauphysik; Energieeinsparung (Maßnahmen zur -); Energietechnik; Erneuerbare Energie (auch: Energieträger, Rohstoffe); Solararchitektur; Umweltgestaltung; Wärmetechnik

 

Beschreibung

Ein zentrales Thema unserer Forschung ist die Beziehung zwischen der Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden und deren Form bzw. Formensprache. Um die gesellschaftlichen Ziele im Hinblick auf eine nachhaltige Entwicklung unserer Umwelt zu erreichen, wissen wir, dass die Energieeffizienz und Ökologie eines jeden Architekturprojektes heute ganz oben auf der Agenda aller Planenden stehen müsste. Finden die vielseitigen Aspekte der Energieeffizienz im Formfindungs- bzw. Entwurfsprozess Berücksichtigung, können sich neue Formsprachen bzw. neue Formen in der Architektur ergeben. Dieses Forschungsprojekt beschäftigt sich mit folgenden Fragen: Wie ausgeprägt ist die Beziehung zwischen der Form und der Energieperformance eines Gebäudes? Führt das Einbeziehen solcher Überlegungen zwangsläufig zu einer neuen Formensprache? Oder es ist denkbar, die Energieeffizienz eines Gebäudes unabhängig von seiner Architekturstilrichtung und ohne Auswirkungen auf den gewollten architektonischen Eindruck so zu optimieren, dass die gesellschaftlichen Ziele hinsichtlich Nachhaltigkeit trotzdem erreicht werden können? Die Beziehung zwischen Architektur und Energie besteht jedenfalls immer. Ob Form follows Energy oder Energy follows Form; die Energieeffizienz eines Gebäudes wird maßgeblich von seiner Architektur beeinflusst.

 

Laufzeit

Januar 2005 - Dezember 2005

 

Veröffentlichungen

Cody, B.: “Form follows Energy, Building Energy Performance and Architecture”, Conference Proceedings, UIA 2005 World Architecture Congress, Istanbul, Türkei, 2005

PDF

Cody, B.: „Form follows Energy“, in: Graz Architecture Magazine, Bd. 2, Wien: Springer, 2005

PDF

Cody, B.:“Form follows Energy“, the SOLAR 2003 Conference, Austin, Texas, USA, 2003

PDF

 

Mehr Info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum