INSTITUTE NEWS TEACHING RESEARCH CONTACT
  • ABOUT

    Based on global warming, decline of existing energy resources, exponential population growth, increasing geopolitical instabilities which are the result of uncertainty of the future energy supply, together with the fact that buildings represent about 40% of total energy consumption worldwide leads to a conclusion that a good architecture is not possible without a good energy concept.

     

    The buildings represent the bigger part of one of the biggest problem of our society - fair distribution of available resources. Therefore architecture can be a big part of the solution. Never before in the history of our civilization architecture had such a chance to gain one of the central roles in the society. Good architecture is always representing the expression of the cultural values, priorities and hopes of a society. Now it can produce a physical response for the existential challenges.

     

    A sustainable development by definition cannot get along with the decay in architectural quality of our built environment. A building with low architectural quality and good energy concept is not an actual benefit for a sustainable future. The objective of research and teaching at the Institute is the maximization of energy performance of buildings and cities, and the development of architectural and urban projects through form and structure optimization toward energy efficiency.

  • TEAM

    Head of the Institute

    Brian Cody

    consultation-hour

    Office hours

    Monday - Friday, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - wednesday 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - friday 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    edina.majdanacqtugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    podmirseg@verticalfarminstitute.org

    Project Assistant/Lector

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    hatice.cody@tugraz.at

    alexandru.daan@gmail.com

    wolfgang.loeschnig@tugraz.at

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    nawara@exikon.at

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Student assistant

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Student assistant

    sever@student.tugraz.at

D

 / E

Natural Ventilation of High-Rise Buildings

Prof. Brian Cody

 

 

 

INFO

PHOTOS

Fields of reference

Power Technology

 

Description

At first sight a high rise building seems inherently energy efficient. The existing wind pressure in greater heights often makes it impossible to use conventional external sun protection and openable windows. That is why usually mechanical ventilation and air-conditioning are being applied and used all year round. Hence, strategies that allow natural ventilation of high buildings have a high potential to improve the energy efficiency. That is why the concept of the winning project of the competition for the new HQ of the European Central Bank in Frankfurt (Germany) consists of natural ventilation of the building only. This idea was then further developed within this research project. The following advantages may apply: greater energy efficiency during operation, reducing embodied energy, lower risks of sick building syndrome, reducing operating costs as well as costs for construction. The results were presented to the scientific community on the international congress in Kyoto, Japan in October 2008.

 

Duration

January 2004 - October 2008

 

Publications

Cody, B.:  “Exploring the potential for natural ventilation of tall buildings”, The 29th AIVC Conference in 2008, Kyoto, Japan, 2008

PDF

 

More info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum

INSTITUT AKTUELLES LEHRE FORSCHUNG KONTAKT
  • ABOUT

    Vor dem vorherrschenden Hintergrund der globalen Erwärmung, rapide zur Neige gehenden Energieressourcen, exponentiellen Bevölkerungswachstums, steigenden geopolitischen Instabilitäten, die aus der Unsicherheit der zukünftigen Energieversorgungssituation resultieren, zusammen mit der Tatsache, dass Gebäude für mindestens 40% des weltweiten Energieverbrauches verantwortlich sind, ist gute Architektur ohne ein gutes Energiekonzept nicht möglich.

     

    Gebäude stellen einen Großteil eines der wahrscheinlich größten Probleme unserer Gesellschaft dar - nämlich die gerechte Aufteilung, der uns zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen. Architektur kann somit einen Großteil der Lösung darstellen. Nie zuvor wurde dieser Disziplin eine vergleichbare Chance geboten, eine derartige zentrale Rolle in der Geschichte der Menschheit einzunehmen. Gute Architektur ist immer ein konkreter Ausdruck der kulturellen Werte, Prioritäten und Hoffnungen einer Gesellschaft. Jetzt kann sie auch die physische Antwort für diese existentielle Herausforderung liefern.

     

    Eine nachhaltige Entwicklung kann per Definition nicht mit einem gleichzeitigen Verlust an der architektonischen Qualität unserer gebauten Umwelt einhergehen. Ein Gebäude mit wenig architektonischer Qualität und einem guten Energiekonzept leistet somit keinen wirklichen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Zukunft. Schwerpunkt der Forschung und Lehre am IGE ist die Maximierung der Energieperformance von Gebäuden und Städten und die Entwicklung von Architektur- und Urban Designprojekten, welche durch Optimierung ihrer Form und Struktur inhärent hoch energieeffizient sind.

     

  • TEAM

    Institutsleiter

    Brian Cody

    Sekretariat

    Doris Damm

    Sprechstunden n. V. im Sekretariat

    Öffnungszeiten Sekretariat:

    Montag - Freitag, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Alexander Eberl

    Sprechstunden Mittwoch 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Aleksandar Tepavcevic

    Sprechstunden Freitag 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistentin

    Christiane Wermke

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Projektassistentin/Lehrbeauftragte

    edina.majdanac@tugraz.at

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    podmirseg@verticalfarminstitute.org

     

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragte

    Hatice Cody

    hatice.cody@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragte

    alexandru.daan@gmail.com

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Wolfgang Löschnig

    wolfgang.loeschnig@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Martin Schneebacher

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    nawara@exikon.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Minoru Suzkuki

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    Vesa Bunjaku

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Studienassistentin

    Saša Sever

    sever@student.tugraz.at

D /

E

Natürliche Lüftung von Hochhäusern

Prof. Brian Cody

 

 

 

INFO

BILDER

Sachgebiete

Energietechnik

 

Beschreibung

Auf den ersten Blick scheint der Hochhaustypus inhärent energieeffizient zu sein. Der in der Höhe vorherrschende Winddruck macht die Verwendung von konventionellen außenliegenden Sonnenschutzvorrichtungen und öffenbaren Fenster jedoch häufig unmöglich, so dass i.d.R. auf ganzjährige mechanische Belüftung und Klimaanlagen zurückgegriffen wird. Strategien, die eine natürliche Belüftung hoher Gebäude ermöglichen, haben deswegen ein hohes Potenzial zur Verbesserung der Energieeffizienz. Daher wurde beim Siegerprojekt im Wettbewerb für den neuen Hauptsitz der Europäischen Zentralbank in Frankfurt ein Konzept entwickelt, das eine ausschließlich natürliche Lüftung des Gebäudes ermöglicht. Diese Ideen wurden im Rahmen des vorliegenden Forschungsprojektes weiterentwickelt. Folgende Vorteile können sich dadurch ergeben: Höhere Energieeffizienz im Betrieb, Senkung der grauen Energie, geringere Gefahr von Sick Building Syndrome, Einsparung sowohl bei den Betriebskosten, als auch bei den Errichtungskosten. Die Ergebnisse wurden auf einem internationalen Kongress in Kyoto, Japan im Oktober 2008 der Scientific Community vorgestellt.

 

Laufzeit

Januar 2004 - Oktober 2008

 

Veröffentlichungen

Cody, B.:  “Exploring the potential for natural ventilation of tall buildings”, The 29th AIVC Conference in 2008, Kyoto, Japan, 2008

PDF

 

Mehr Info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum