INSTITUTE NEWS TEACHING RESEARCH CONTACT
  • ABOUT

    Based on global warming, decline of existing energy resources, exponential population growth, increasing geopolitical instabilities which are the result of uncertainty of the future energy supply, together with the fact that buildings represent about 40% of total energy consumption worldwide leads to a conclusion that a good architecture is not possible without a good energy concept.

     

    The buildings represent the bigger part of one of the biggest problem of our society - fair distribution of available resources. Therefore architecture can be a big part of the solution. Never before in the history of our civilization architecture had such a chance to gain one of the central roles in the society. Good architecture is always representing the expression of the cultural values, priorities and hopes of a society. Now it can produce a physical response for the existential challenges.

     

    A sustainable development by definition cannot get along with the decay in architectural quality of our built environment. A building with low architectural quality and good energy concept is not an actual benefit for a sustainable future. The objective of research and teaching at the Institute is the maximization of energy performance of buildings and cities, and the development of architectural and urban projects through form and structure optimization toward energy efficiency.

  • TEAM

    Head of the Institute

    Brian Cody

    consultation-hour

    Office hours

    Monday - Friday, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - wednesday 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - friday 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    edina.majdanacqtugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    podmirseg@verticalfarminstitute.org

    Project Assistant/Lector

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    hatice.cody@tugraz.at

    alexandru.daan@gmail.com

    wolfgang.loeschnig@tugraz.at

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    nawara@exikon.at

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Student assistant

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Student assistant

    sever@student.tugraz.at

D

 / E

Vertical Farming

INFO

PHOTOS

Title of the project: VERTICAL FARMING

Investigation on requirements of a Vertical Farm-prototype development for crop plant production

 

Synopsis

In the center of interest stands the investigation of fundamental principles for a new building typology – the Vertical Farm. Urban vertical food production can contribute to more energy efficient cities by concurrently reducing land use. Substantial influencing factors to achieve these goals are intended to be revealed.

 

Project description / tasks

Status: on-going

 

Starting point / motivation

Increasing urbanisation and strong population growth with increasingly higher demand on fresh and high-quality food - produced environmentally friendly and in a sustainable manner - requires new solutions regarding crop cultivation and a strong programmatic densification of urban areas. One of these solutions is a resilient and liveable urban design through intensification in urban vertical food production. Strong reductions in land consumption for urban food production and an increase in the overall energy efficiency of cities have to be achieved.

For this purpose, the Institute for Buildings and Energy, Graz University of Technology together with the vertical farm institute in Vienna has set up a multidisciplinary consortium partnership with the Department of Crop Science, Division of Vegetables and Ornamentals at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna and SIEMENS as the industrial partner.

 

Content and goals

This exploratory study is defined as the preparation for a prototypical Vertical Farm in Vienna. The main research goal is to unveil the principles which are essential to develop a Vertical Farm within an urban context beyond a cooperative R&D-project. Investigations within this project are touching all crucial influencing parameters in plant physiology as well as typological questions which are related to architectural questions. Climatic conditions, conceptual investigations in building services as well as communication technology and control engineering make part of this exploratory research project.

 

Methods

Based on a crop catalogue which will be developed for this project, cultivation methods and growing conditions get elaborated and translated as required indoor climate conditions, serving the simulation software so that the energy performance of the Vertical Farm can be evaluated. Based on the crop needs, basic typological parameters get developed and evaluated. The building form with the most promising potentials sequentially gets developed and more deeply investigated on energy consumption.

The building concept will be sketched by requirements such as construction, fire safety, building physics, energy performance and building services. A concept for building services will be developed based on heating and cooling supply, ventilation, lighting, power supply, elevator technology, sanitary devices, communication technology and control engineering.

These determining data and numbers enable to reveal the possibility to quantify the potential of

Vertical Farming, in particular regarding its increase of efficiency in use of natural resources. Sustainability aspects related to ecology, economy and sociology will be outlined.

 

Expected results

The concentration on Vertical Farming within this exploratory study is based on the consortium‘s decision to aim for a realization - towards a „proof of concept“ within a cooperative R&D-project - of a Hyperbuilding, a building typology which unifies food production, apartments and offices. The central idea behind it is to bring to light synergetic interactions between the up mentioned functions. Remarkable potentials are presumed regarding an increase of the overall energy efficiency throughout urban decentralized food production. In particular the question wants to be answered to what extend energy flows between these three functions could be complemented or to quantify the resulting synergies.

This research project delivers an essential contribution to highlight the potentials to increase the energy efficiency by implementing an intensification of food production through Vertical Farming in the urban environment. The research activity in plant physiology to determine ideal growing conditions, typological investigations and energy studies allow sketching basic requirements to develop this new building typology.

 

Project Management

Mag.arch.Dr.techn. Daniel Podmirseg, Institute for Buildings and Energy, Graz University of Technology

 

Project or cooperation partners

vertical farm institute, Vienna

Department of Crop Sciences (DNW), Division of Vegetables and Ornamentals, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna

SIEMENS AG, Vienna

 

Publications

Podmirseg.D.: „Contribution of Vertical Farms to increase the overall Energy Efficiency of Cities“ Internationales Symposium „High Density and Living Comfort, TU Graz, Graz, Österreich, 2013, Best PhD-paper.

PDF

 

Contact address

Daniel Podmirseg

Windmühlgasse 9/23, 1060 Vienna

+43 (0) 1 20 88 635

daniel@podmirseg.com

www.ige.tugraz.at

www.verticalfarminstitute.org

 

More info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum

INSTITUT AKTUELLES LEHRE FORSCHUNG KONTAKT
  • ABOUT

    Vor dem vorherrschenden Hintergrund der globalen Erwärmung, rapide zur Neige gehenden Energieressourcen, exponentiellen Bevölkerungswachstums, steigenden geopolitischen Instabilitäten, die aus der Unsicherheit der zukünftigen Energieversorgungssituation resultieren, zusammen mit der Tatsache, dass Gebäude für mindestens 40% des weltweiten Energieverbrauches verantwortlich sind, ist gute Architektur ohne ein gutes Energiekonzept nicht möglich.

     

    Gebäude stellen einen Großteil eines der wahrscheinlich größten Probleme unserer Gesellschaft dar - nämlich die gerechte Aufteilung, der uns zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen. Architektur kann somit einen Großteil der Lösung darstellen. Nie zuvor wurde dieser Disziplin eine vergleichbare Chance geboten, eine derartige zentrale Rolle in der Geschichte der Menschheit einzunehmen. Gute Architektur ist immer ein konkreter Ausdruck der kulturellen Werte, Prioritäten und Hoffnungen einer Gesellschaft. Jetzt kann sie auch die physische Antwort für diese existentielle Herausforderung liefern.

     

    Eine nachhaltige Entwicklung kann per Definition nicht mit einem gleichzeitigen Verlust an der architektonischen Qualität unserer gebauten Umwelt einhergehen. Ein Gebäude mit wenig architektonischer Qualität und einem guten Energiekonzept leistet somit keinen wirklichen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Zukunft. Schwerpunkt der Forschung und Lehre am IGE ist die Maximierung der Energieperformance von Gebäuden und Städten und die Entwicklung von Architektur- und Urban Designprojekten, welche durch Optimierung ihrer Form und Struktur inhärent hoch energieeffizient sind.

     

  • TEAM

    Institutsleiter

    Brian Cody

    Sekretariat

    Doris Damm

    Sprechstunden n. V. im Sekretariat

    Öffnungszeiten Sekretariat:

    Montag - Freitag, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Alexander Eberl

    Sprechstunden Mittwoch 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Aleksandar Tepavcevic

    Sprechstunden Freitag 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistentin

    Christiane Wermke

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Projektassistentin/Lehrbeauftragte

    edina.majdanac@tugraz.at

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    podmirseg@verticalfarminstitute.org

     

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragte

    Hatice Cody

    hatice.cody@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    dan@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Wolfgang Löschnig

    wolfgang.loeschnig@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Martin Schneebacher

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    nawara@exikon.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Minoru Suzkuki

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    Vesa Bunjaku

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Studienassistentin

    Saša Sever

    sever@student.tugraz.at

D /

E

Vertical Farming

INFO

BILDER

Titel des Projekts: VERTICAL FARMING

Ermittlung der Anforderungsbedingungen zur Entwicklung eines Vertical Farm – Prototyps zur Kulturpflanzenproduktion

 

Synopse

Im Mittelpunkt steht die Erforschung von Grundlagen für eine neue Gebäudetypologie, der Vertikalen Farm. Urbane vertikale Lebensmittelproduktion kann zur Steigerung der Energieeffizienz von und zur Reduktion des Landverbrauchs durch Städte beitragen. Wesentliche Einflussfaktoren zur Erreichung dieser Ziele sollen durch diese Grundlagenforschung offen gelegt werden.

 

Status: laufend

 

Ausgangssituation/Motivation

Die zunehmende Urbanisierung und der starke Zuwachs der Bevölkerung mit steigenden Anforderungen an ausreichend frischen und qualitativ hochwertigen Lebensmitteln, die umweltschonend und nachhaltig erzeugt werden, erfordert neue Lösungen im Kulturpflanzenanbau und eine Erhöhung programmatischer Verdichtung urbaner Flächen. Eine dieser innovativen Lösungen stellt eine resiliente und lebenswerte Gestaltung der Städte durch eine intensive urbane Agrikultur dar, durch die u.a. eine starke Reduktion von Landverbrauch für die urbane Lebensmittelproduktion und eine Erhöhung der Gesamtenergieeffizienz von Städten erzielt werden soll.

Das Institut für Gebäude und Energie der Technischen Universität Graz hat dafür gemeinsam mit dem vertical farm institute in Wien eine multidisziplinäre Konsortialpartnerschaft mit dem Department für Nutzpflanzenwissenschaften – Abteilung Gartenbau an der Universität für Bodenkultur Wien und SIEMENS als industriellen Partner gegründet.

 

Inhalte und Zielsetzungen

Das Sondierungsprojekt versteht sich als Vorbereitung für die Entwicklung einer prototypischen Vertikalen Farm für Wien. Der Schwerpunkt des Sondierungsprojektes liegt in der Erforschung der Grundlagen, welche notwendig sind, eine Vertikale Farm für das urbane Umfeld im Rahmen eines kooperatives F&E-Projekts zu entwickeln. Wesentliche pflanzenphysiologische und architekturtypologische Überlegungen, Potenzialanalysen klimatischer Bedingungen, Konzeptuierung nötiger Gebäudetechnik sowie Kommunikations- und Regelungstechnik umfassen die inhaltliche Auseinandersetzung.

Methodische Vorgehensweise

Basierend auf einen eigens erstellten Kulturpflanzenkatalog werden Anbaubedingungen ermittelt, welche als Sollwert-Verzeichnisse der Gebäudesimulationssoftware zugefügt werden, um die Energieperformance der Vertikalen Farm zu evaluieren. Basierend auf pflanzenphysiologischen Untersuchungen werden typologische Grundlagen entwickelt, um davon eine Gebäudetypologie ableiten zu können. Dieses Modell wird auf dessen Energiebedarf untersucht.

Das Gebäudekonzept schließt konzeptuelle Überlegungen hinsichtlich Konstruktion, Brandschutz, Bauphysik, Energieperformance und Gebäudetechnik mit ein. Ein Gebäudetechnik-konzept wird entwickelt, welches Wärme- und gegebenenfalls Kälteversorgung, Lüftung, Beleuchtung, Stromversorgung, Aufzugstechnik, Sanitärtechnik, Kommunikations- und Regelungstechnik berücksichtigt.

Die daraus ermittelten Daten und Zahlen ermöglichen Potenziale offenzulegen, um den Beitrag der Lebensmittelproduktion mittels Vertical Farming zu quantifizieren. Die Ressourceneffizienz und die Nachhaltigkeit unter ökologischen, ökonomischen und sozialen Gesichtspunkten werden beleuchtet.

 

Erwartete Ergebnisse

Die Konzentration auf Vertical Farming in der Sondierung ist dadurch begründet, dass sich das Konsortium das Ziel gesetzt hat, über ein darauffolgendes kooperatives F&E-Projekt hinaus, eine Realisierung anzustreben. Vertical Farming wird demnach folglich mit Wohnen und Büros erweitert. Die Leitidee liegt in der Offenlegung der synergetischen Interaktion von Vertical Farming, Wohn- und Büronutzung.

Es werden Potenziale hinsichtlich der Steigerung der Gesamtenergieeffizienz urbaner dezentraler Lebensmittelproduktion anhand eines zu entwickelnden Hybridgebäudes, dem Hyperbuilding

ermittelt. Im Speziellen wird der Frage nachgegangen, inwieweit sich die Energieflüsse der drei Funktionen ergänzen können bzw. wie hoch die daraus resultierenden Synergien sind.

Durch pflanzenphysiologische Forschungstätigkeit zur Ermittlung idealer Anbaukonditionen einerseits und architektonischer und energetischer Untersuchungen andererseits bietet das vorliegende Forschungsprojekt einen wesentlichen Beitrag in der Untersuchung der Potenziale zur Verbesserung der Energieeffizienz in der Lebensmittelproduktion durch die Integration von Vertical Farming in die Stadt.

 

Projektleiter

 Mag.arch.Dr.techn. Daniel Podmirseg, Institut für Gebäude und Energie, Technische Universität Graz

 

Auflistung der weiteren Projekt- bzw. KooperationspartnerInnen

 vertical farm institute, Wien

 Department für Nutzpflanzenwissenschaften (DNW), Abteilung Gartenbau, BOKU, Wien

 SIEMENS AG, Wien

 

Veröffentlichungen

Podmirseg.D.: „Contribution of Vertical Farms to increase the overall Energy Efficiency of Cities“ Internationales Symposium „High Density and Living Comfort, TU Graz, Graz, Österreich, 2013, Best PhD-paper.

PDF

 

Kontaktadresse

 Daniel Podmirseg

 Windmühlgasse 9/23, 1060 Vienna

 +43 (0) 1 20 88 635

 daniel@podmirseg.com

 www.ige.tugraz.at

 www.verticalfarminstitute.org

 

Mehr Info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum